Friday, 22 August 2008

Dunfyboy's Sugar Hill Mix

Download from MediaFire.

It's been a strange month. I've only upped a few mixes and, as a result, the downloads weren't even in treble figures till a few days ago when my DJ Shadow Mix was posted on the Solesides website. I really need to start spreading the word about my site. If only I wasn't so bloody lazy!!!

This will probably be the last mix of the month. It's a tribute to one of the oldest of old school hip hop labels - Sugar Hill Records.

It's first release, Sugarhill Gang's "Rapper's Delight", came out in 1979. It sampled the bass line from Chic's "Good Times" which led to the label being sued. It wasn't the only lawsuit filled against the label in it's all too brief existence. Even Grandmaster Flash sued. This, along with contract disputes, caused many of the artists to leave and the label folded in 1986.

A short but sweet experience then. 20 plus years on, some of the rhymes may sound a little dated (I guess the star sign thing worked with the ladies at the time) and I never could work out why having butter on your toast was bragging or being boastful, but the label gave us some true classics and I think it's fair to say the world of hip hop would have turned out differently without it.

The first Sugar Hill track I heard was as a 10 year old back in 1984. My dad had a C90 he used to play in the car with Kreftwerk's "Autobahn" on one side and various other songs, including "White Lines", on the other. So you can thank my old man for this mix.


01 - It's Nasty (Genius of Love) - Grandmaster Flash & Furious Five
02 - The Message - Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
03 - Step Off - The Furious Five
04 - The Down Beat - Sugarhill Gang
05 - Yes We Can-Can - Treacherous Three
06 - Vice - Grandmaster Melle Mel
07 - Sing A Simple Song - West Street Mob
08 - All Night Long (Waterbed) - Kevie Kev (Waterbed Kev)
09 - Hey Fellas - Trouble Funk
10 - We Are Known As Emcees (We Turn Party's Out) - Crash Crew
11 - Making Cash Money - Busy Bee
12 - Funk You Up - The Sequence
13 - XMas Rap - Treacherous Three
14 - Outta Control - Miracle Mike & The Ladies Of The 80's
15 - 8th Wonder - The Sugarhill Gang
16 - That's The Joint - Funky 4 + 1
17 - The Birthday Party - Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
18 - Freedom - Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
19 - Rapper's Delight (Long Version) - Sugarhill Gang
20 - The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash On The Wheels Of Steel - Grandmaster Flash
21 - The Word Is Out - Sugarhill Gang
22 - People Get On Up - Positive Force
23 - Break Dance-Electric Boogie - West Street Mob
24 - Rapper's Reprise (Jam-Jam) - Sugarhill Gang
25 - Ooh Baby (Short Version) - West Street Mob
26 - Let's Dance (Make Your Body Move) - West Street Mob
27 - Apache - Sugar Hill Gang
28 - White Lines (Don't Don't Do It) - Grandmaster & Melle Mel
29 - Scorpio - Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
30 - Message II (Survival) - Melle Mel & Duke Bootee
31 - We Don't Work For Free - Grandmaster Melle Mel & The Furious Five

No comments: